(843) 345-6074

Entertainment, Shopping & Restaurants

The 4,210,000 tourists that visit Charleston area each year come for several reasons.  The ambiance of our historical city, friendly people, beautiful scenery, amenities, spectator sports, shopping, world-class restaurants…are just a few reasons why the Lowcountry area is so popular.

The large tourist volume helps sustain such amazing cultural and recreational amenities which aren’t found in cities with similar populations.  From the world-class symphony orchestra to the Gibbes Museum of Art to college sports to the historical homes tours, there is always something to do.  And, when you live here, you’ll be able to enjoy and take advantage all that Charleston offers….

Almost every weekend there is a different event or activity taking place in the area. Below please find a list of a few of my favorite events as well as lists of shopping venues and restaurants:

GENERAL ENTERTAINMENT
South Carolina Aquarium http://www.scaquarium.org/
Upcoming Charleston Events  http://www.charlestoncvb.com/visitors/events.html

MUSEUMS
Charleston Museum http://www.charlestonmuseum.org/topic.asp?id=1
Gibbes Museum http://www.gibbesmuseum.org/
Patriots Point Naval & Maritime Museum http://www.patriotspoint.org/

PERFORMING ARTS
Charleston Symphony Orchestra http://www.charlestonsymphony.com/Home.aspx
Charleston Ballet Theater http://www.charlestonballet.com/
Charleston Stage http://www.charlestonstage.com/
Footlight Players http://www.footlightplayers.net/

FESTIVALS & YEARLY EVENTS
Spoleto Festival http://www.spoletousa.org/
Piccolo Spoleto Festival http://www.piccolospoleto.com/
Annual House and Garden Candlelight Tour  http://www.preservationsociety.org/tours_default.a
Cooper River Bridge Run  http://www.bridgerun.com
Flowertown Festival http://www.flowertownfestival.org/
MOJA Festival  http://www.mojafestival.com/
Southeastern Wildlife Exposition http://www.sewe.com/

PROFESSIONAL SPORTS
Charleston Battery Soccer http://charlestonbattery.com/
Charleston Riverdogs Baseball (Minor League) http://www.riverdogs.com/
Family Circle Cup Women’s Pro Tennis http://www.familycirclecup.com/
SC Stingrays Hockey http://www.stingrayshockey.com/

COLLEGE SPORTS
The Citadel  http://www.citadelsports.com/
College of Charleston  http://www.cofcsports.com/
Charleston Southern University  http://csusports.athleticsite.com/

SHOPPING CENTERS/MALLS
Citadel Mall http://www.shopcitadel-mall.com/shop/citadel.nsf/index
Mount Pleasant Towne Centre http://www.mtpleasanttownecentre.com/
Northwoods Mall http://www.shopnorthwoodsmall.com/shop/northwoods.nsf/index
Best of Charleston: Favorite Shops of Locals (click on Shops & Wares) http://www.charlestoncitypaper.com/charleston/bestof
Bookstores http://www.insiderpages.com/s/SC/Charleston/BookStores

RESTAURANTS
Downtown Charleston
  82 Queen http://www.82queen.com/
Blossom http://www.magnolias-blossom-cypress.com/
Charleston Boat House http://www.boathouserestaurants.com
Circa 1886 http://www.circa1886.com/
Cypress http://www.magnolias-blossom-cypress.com/
Magnolia’s http://www.magnolias-blossom-cypress.com/
McGradys http://mccradysrestaurant.com/
Sticky Fingers http://www.stickyfingers.com/default.aspx

Mount Pleasant
Red Drum http://www.reddrum.com/
Sticky Fingers http://www.stickyfingers.com/default.aspx
T-Bonz http://www.tbonz.com/
Vickerys http://www.vickerys.com/

Isle of Palms
Boathouse  http://www.boathouserestaurants.com
Coconut Joes  http://www.coconutjoes.biz/ordereze/1000/Page.aspx

Sullivan’s Island
  Poe’s Tavern http://poestavern.com/sullivans-island/
Sullivans Restaurant http://sullivansrestaurant.org/

Summerville
Red Pepper http://www.theredpepper.com/
Sticky Fingers http://www.stickyfingers.com/default.aspx
Woodlands Dining Room www.woodlandsinn.com

Also, please visit:  http://www.charlestoncitypaper.com/charleston/bestof and click on “Eating” to see the favorite restaurants of the locals.

 

 

css.php