In South Carolina, a person qualified for the Homestead Exemption is he/she:
1. holds a fee simple title or life estate and it is their primary residence
2. as of December 31 preceding the tax year of the exemption, the applicant was a legal resident of SC for at least one year.
3. As of December 31 preceding the tax year of the exemption the applicant must qualify by either of the following:
a. be 65 years old
b. classified as totally and permanently disabled by the appropriate state or federal agency
c. meet the stateâ€™s definition of being totally blind
In SC, for those who are qualified, this program exempts the first $50,000 of their homeâ€™s value from all property taxes. Assessed value drops by $2,000 (ie. 50,000 x 4%=$2000).
Laws, policies, taxes…constantly change. Please verify all information with:
Charleston County Auditor
101 Meeting Street
P.O. Box 614
Charleston, SC 29402-0614
Telephone (843) 958-4200
Fax (843) 958-4222
information on Charleston South Carolina Real Estate visit: